Skip to content

** Easy Chicken Quesadillas

March 23, 2011

Rating: Nothing to write home about

I found this recipe by typing in “chicken breast” and “tortillas” in the search field in the website SuperCook. This is one of those websites where you just type in the ingredients you have at home, and it comes up with the list of recipes for you!

Easy Chicken Quesadillas
Foodgeeks.com: Easy Chicken Quesadillas by studymom_2000
My comments in blue

Timing
Prep time: 45 minutes – More like 30 min: 15min to defrost the chicken, the other 15 to dice it up
Active Cooking Time: 15 minutes – More like 30 min: cook the chicken, slice the cheese, set up the tortillas and cheese
Walk-away time: 15 minutes – the time the quesadillas spend in the oven

Ingredients

  • 8 oz. cheddar cheese, sliced – I used something like 5 oz of yellow extra sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 lg. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, diced – I only used 2, but they were pretty large
  • 1 pkg. taco seasoning mix
  • 1 cup water
  • 6 lg. flour tortillas I made 2 quesadillas, so that’s only 4 tortillas – I used whole wheat tortillas

Directions

  1. Dissolve taco seasoning in water in large skillet.
  2. Add chicken breasts and cook until chicken is thouroughly cooked; drain.
  3. Layer cheese slices on 3 tortillas (I use a pizza pan).
  4. Next, put 1/3 of chicken on each tortilla.
  5. Top with another layer of cheese and remaining tortillas.
  6. Bake at 350°F for about 15 minutes, until cheese is melted.
  7. Cut into quarters and serve with sour cream and/or guacamole.

Final review: these turned out pretty well, and I might make them again, but not for dinner. Maybe as a party appetizer or something. The truth is that it was way too much cheese for dinner.

ina

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christine Laubenstein permalink
    March 23, 2011 1:18 am

    I like your honesty! And thanks for showing you can make quesadillas in the oven. I’ve only ever seen them made on the stove. I will try these, as Jim loves quesadillas.

Leave a comment