Skip to content

*** Mac and Cheese

July 13, 2011

Rating: AMAZING! MAKE IT AGAIN!

I found this recipe by googling for easy mac and cheese recipes. The purpose was to take it to a work pot luck, and I really didn’t want to break the bank to feed others when I’m here pinching pennies to feed myself on a daily basis. So I got some elbows (on sale), cheese, evaporated milk, and got down to business!

I’m DELIGHTED to report that my Mac and Cheese was a huge HIT! I even overheard people at the pot luck saying how good it was 🙂 (somehow it’s more satisfying to hear it said behind my back than to my face) 😉 It was so easy to make following this recipe, that I would do it again! Maybe I would even consider changing some ingredients around to make it a more low-calorie meal, but it was so good the way it was that I’d be afraid to mess with quality!

Traditional Macaroni and Cheese
Allrecipes.com: Traditional Macaroni and Cheese by Nestle® Carnation®
My comments in blue

Timing
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cooking Time: 20 minutes
Ready in: 35 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 cups dry, small elbow macaroni, cooked and drained
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard – I left out the mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can NESTLE® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk – I used a generic brand
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese, divided – I got the kind that comes in a 2-cup bag, generic brand. Perfect size, perfect price.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease 2-quart casserole dish.
  2. Combine cornstarch, salt, mustard and pepper in medium saucepan. Stir in evaporated milk, water, and butter. Cook over medium-heat, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a boil.
  3. Boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat.
  4. Stir in 1 1/2 cups cheese until melted.
  5. Add macaroni; mix well.
  6. Pour into prepared casserole dish. Top with remaining cheese.
  7. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until cheese is melted and light brown. – I baked for 19 minutes, and it was brown all over the top


  8. Footnotes

    • NOTE: To transform Macaroni & Cheese from a simple dish to a savory one-dish meal, add 1 cup chopped ham or hot dogs after milk mixture comes to a boil.

The aftermath…

Big Hit!!!!

Enjoy!

ina

No comments yet

Leave a comment